On April 4th, 2019
Private visit of the museum, its outstanding architecture, its garden and collection & the glass studio Pierini
The Fernand Léger Museum
A few months before his death, in 1955, Fernand Léger acquired the farmhouse St André, located at the foot of the village of Biot. On this horticultural ground, Nadia Léger, his widow, and Georges Bauquier, his close collaborator, decide to create a museum in homage to him and to promote the knowledge of his work. The building project is designed by the architect André Svetchine, the park entrusted to the landscaper Henri Fisch. The building incorporates in front a huge mosaic, initially planned by Léger for the decoration of the stadium of Hanover, but never realized.
On the evening of May 13, 1960, an exceptional event inaugurates the Fernand Léger museum in Biot. More than five thousand guests flock to the opening of the first monographic museum in the region. Under the patronage of Picasso, Braque and Chagall, the inauguration brings together celebrities from the literary and artistic world, film stars and political representatives. The Fernand Léger Museum marks the cultural landscape of its time.
Pierini Glass Studio
Antoine Pierini, son of the glassmaker Robert Pierini, and his wife Gaëlle work hand in hand and perpetuate the family inheritance.
Real enthusiasts, they are totally devoted to this fascinating material and have brought a new lease of life into this place of creation and of exhibition.
Reservation & information
Price and detailed program on request. As we have only limited number of places, thank you for contacting us as per email at email@example.com